MO vacation MO food

A vacation to the midwest is probably not the top travel spot someone would pick for the start of summer but it just so happen to be mine. If you ever find yourself in this neck of the woods I like to call home, the 417, Springvegas, or better known as Springfield, Missouri and get hungry you should try out these local places!

ANDY’S FROZEN CUSTARD 

The best frozen custard you will have! From a simple cone to a concrete that has all the toppings you can imagine, Andy’s has something for everyone! The first thing I did when I got into Springfield was get Andy’s. Being without it for a year I got it as much as I could for the two weeks I was in town. If you are an Andy’s lover like me you might ask how did you go that long without it?! I do not know!!! Because I kid you not I crave Andy’s every other day! #BringAndystoFlorida

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

BLACK SHEEP BURGERS & SHAKES

Juicy flavorful burgers and well seasoned fries is exactly what Black Sheep has to offer. BUT that’s not even the best part. They have milkshakes!!! And not just any kind of milkshakes but alcoholic milkshakes!! Which are also made from Andy’s Frozen Custard. It’s a win win all around!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

DRUFF’S

Fancy grill cheese is how I associate with Druff’s. A simple menu is all you need sometimes! Great lunch spot even better Happy Hour spot!!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

THE GOLDEN GIRL RUM CLUB

Drinks! Drinks! Drinks! This is the place to get drinks with the girls. If you also want a bite to eat they have a few things you can choose from the menu. I was so hungry that I didn’t even get to take a photo of the rice bowl I got but the tacos my friends got looked just as tasty! From the food to the drinks this place is filled with flavor! But be careful when it comes to the drinks, one too many Hurricanes could cause a hurricane headache the next morning!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

SPRINGFIELD BREWING COMPANY

Good food, good beer, come here!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

ST. MICHAEL’S

If you make your way to St. Michael’s whether it be for lunch or dinner, make sure you get a slice of the banana cake! It’s scrumptious and just the thing you need to satisfy your sweet tooth!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

PINEAPPLE WHIP

A good simple refreshing treat that won’t fill you up too much after the large meal you had before. My go to place on a hot summer day but be ready for it to melt on your hands in a matter of seconds if you get a cone! There is the original flavor which is pineapple or depending on the location, there is a second flavor that is available (strawberry-kiwi, grape, or mango-peach) and you can get the swirl. I’m more of an original type of girl but depending on the flavor I might go for a swirl that day!

IMG_0998
Photo from: RPM

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Breakfast is not only the most important meal of the day but it also happens to be my favorite meal of the day! Whether it’s coffee or mimosas either one is a must for breakfast and sure to start your day off STRONG. I realize that I went to a few breakfast places when I was in town so instead of talking about them individually I thought I would group them together! Any time I go to a new place to eat breakfast I will usually order french toast as my meal or on the side. It’s such a simple dish that that’s how I tend to decide if I ultimately like the food or want to go back there! If I get anything savory for breakfast I make sure I get eggs or some type of potatoes with the meal!

EARLY BIRD 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

AVIARY CAFE

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

CHERRY PICKER

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

ST. GEORGE’S DONUTS

All time favorite donut shop in Springfield and probably in general! I remember in high school going to St. George’s to get donuts for study hall or for a nice morning birthday treat for friends! Made fresh daily with quality ingredients and the price for them won’t break the bank at all! How do I get a dozen shipped to Florida?!?

IMG_0784

And those were just SOME of my favorite places to eat in Springfield! Even now I’m discovering that there were a few places I missed or didn’t get a chance to go to! But there is always next time!! Thanks Springfield for the extra 10 pounds I’ve probably gained but it was worth it!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Leave a Reply

