Terrific Twos | Happy Birthday Rooney

I’ve had two dogs in the past that were family dogs and that stayed outside because of my mom’s allergies as well as mine. I never let that stop me from loving them! But I always wanted a dog that I could cuddle with in bed on those lazy Sundays and rainy days. A dog that I had full responsibility for, teach it cool tricks, and call my own. Luckily I got Rooney who happens to fit those descriptions.

So two years ago I dabbled with the idea of getting my own pup. Not thinking that it would actually happen but I guess the big guy upstairs thought it would be a good idea for me to have a canine companion of my own. Since I’ve had Rooney it has hands down been the best two years with him. To show him how much I appreciate and love him (not that I don’t already spoil him on an everyday basis) I thought I would go all out for his special day.

Yes, I am very much aware how ridiculous it may seem to go all out for a dog’s birthday but I don’t care. If you can’t go all out and celebrate your dog’s special day then what is life? Although Rooney hated the crown that was on his head and could barely sit still while I took his photo, he really enjoyed the pupcakes and I’ll always be able to smile and treasure these photos forever!

IMG_5237

IMG_5238
It took Roon everything in him to not jump over to his pupcakes

 

IMG_5231
I need to work on my icing skills

Pupcake  Recipe (Makes 9) :

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Frosting

  • 2 low-fat plain cream cheese
  • smooth peanut butter
  • Dog teats

Preheat oven at 335°F and line cupcake tin with cupcake liners. Mix all ingredients in a bowl and evenly distribute in the cupcake liners. Bake for 15-20 minutes and leave to cool before icing. For the frosting you can mix peanut butter and cream cheese together and put a spoonful on top of the cakes or do what I did and use a piping bag, spread two lines of peanut butter on the sides of the bag and then spoon in the cream cheese. Make sure your cream cheese is room temperature or else you will have a hard time icing your cupcakes like I did!! I used a star icing nozzle and in a circular motion attempted to pipe like a pro. And finally add your dog treat on top. Serve to your dog and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

